11:45pmish – 1amish

Welcome back, hope your tea’s not too hot.
Sooo, where were we…
The Emirates guy made a few ‘calls’ to the plane and told me to wait 10 minutes. Hopeful, I returned to my sister who was standing there with Mr. M and our naked luggage. What I mean by that is that I had bought both of us brand new shiny luggage and so to keep it shiny I used a luggage protector, I’m sure you’ve seem them before, it’s like a big  sleeve that you put over the whole suitcase to stop it from getting scratched up because when you’ve spent a £100 on a box with wheels what’s £10 more.
Now when both our luggage/luggages… ( I think the plural is without the s) went on the plane, they were dressed, I have witnesses, if I didn’t maybe I’d have doubts because clearly I’m a phone down after ‘I put it in my bag’, however, when they came off they were not. Now before you think they fell off, these covers are secured below the suitcase, so I just want to know why Emirates, why? Air miles mean nothing if you have to wait over an hour for your luggage and worry about if someone has been checking your bag from snacks. ( I had a lot of snacks in my luggage, thankfully they’re still there).
ANYWAYYY, I return to the man who has called the plane about my cheap black Huawei which I was using to replace my expensive white Huawei that had been stolen a few weeks earlier only for him give me the Simon Cowell “it’s a no from me I’m afraid…”
Why the false hope sir?
How can a stranger play with my emotions like this. As I’m walking back to Temi and M (the Mr. is becoming a bit much) I realise she has her travel pillow on her hand luggage but mine isn’t there anymore. When did that fall off?? 😱
By this time it’s almost 1am and we arrived at 10:30pm, with the intention of checking in at 12am so Temi could get a good night of rest before orientation the next day. He gives me a number to call today so I can check. At this point I’m typing and I’d love to check but I don’t have phone soo, I now understand the term “catch 22”. I guess I’m waiting for Temi to finish orientation so I can use her phone but she hasn’t got a local sim card yet so I don’t know if I want to explore those costs.
ANYWAYYY, at least I know exactly where my pillow is, it’s in the luggage office on the chair I was sitting on when I realised my phone wasn’t in my bag where I put it on the plane so started unpacking everything. Temi and M go to buy an Octopus card. (Which is basically an Oyster card that can also be used in shops (like Pret)) and I return to the office to pick up my pillow.
Inner dialogue again (been having a lot of these it seems)
Oh, the lights are off…
The door is locked.. Hmm, interesting. I wonder what that means…
I know they aren’t closed when I came all this way to collect my pillow.
I wait outside for someone like a lost puppy and two ladies walk by and tell me someone should be there soon. I look at the bathroom door assuming someone is coming out, still waiting I begin to wonder what this guy is doing in the loo for so long I am conscious that M is probably regretting offering to help us and Temi is probably tired and asked someone else. ‘Oh they’re closed, I think they open at 6am.’
The theme of this night seems to be get your hopes up and let them down again.
A summary for those taking notes ‘false hopes’.
These things are only minors but yeah that’s the first night. I haven’t included 1am-3am where a taxi driver that tried to rip us off and charge HK$980 which is about £100  to get to our hotel or, the 4 flights stairs we had to climb with our 4 suitcases or, our first trip to 7/11 where water comes in rose flavour or, this thing called corn pie at McDonald’s mainly because I doubt many people will read this far and also I need to get going back to the hotel so I can make my calls.
I roughly know but also don’t know how far I am from the hotel and I told Temi I’d meet her there, she can’t call me and this seems to be the one Pret without wifi so I don’t want her to worry I’m lost.
Tune into tomorrow if you want to know who Mr. M is and how I got a 5 finger discount on a brown bread tuna sandwich.
I’d love to sign off in Cantonese but when I try to say anything in this language I feel like a racist comedian making fun people under the guise of artistic liberty. I’m here for a couple months so hopefully I can pick up a little without like I’ll accidentally insulting someone.

So I’ll just say byaaa x

One thought on “11:45pmish – 1amish

Leave a comment